top of page

The Five Tibetan Rites

Updated: May 8, 2020

The Five Tibetans Rites The Five Tibetan Rites are a sequence of movement that is more than 2,500 years old, I have heard about it and wanted to find out more, until a student of mine shared a book written by Christopher S. Kilham, I was fascinated, and we started to practice a few repetitions in class. The Rites are said to be a form of Tibetan Yoga, there is no clear answer on exactly how it came to be, but there is many theories.

According to the Tibetan lamas, the only difference between youth and old age is the spin rate of the chakras (energy centers located along your physical spine). The lamas say this rites stimulate all seven chakras to spin rapidly at the same rate. The believe is that if any one of the chakras is blocked and its natural spin rate slowed, then vital life energy will be unable to circulate causing aging and illness. The Five Tibetan rites balance and stimulate your chakras, here are known benefits; Improve strength and flexibility Enhance vitality Create greater mental clarity and focus Strengthen lower back and core muscles Improve your libido Supports menopause and hormonal balance Improved digestion and elimination Reduce depression and anxiety Develop better posture Strengthen your immune system Supports deeper sleep Detoxification Balance the chakras

I found when I first started that I was really protecting my neck through the rites and twirling slow, as I read more, practice and got stronger, (I slowly progressed from 3 repetitions, to 5, to 7 and so on) by the time I was practicing 11 repetitions I was comfortable to move to the full range of motion of the rites plus I was able to spin well without dizziness, it felt powerful.

A reference on “The Five Tibetans” by Christopher S. Kilham on the first rite was most helpful and allowed me to let go of my fear of vertigo, “ careful, and don’t push it. This exercise strengthens the vestibular apparatus, the balance mechanism residing in the inner ear. With Regular practice dizziness will stop and the spin will become easy and fluid, even at very fast speeds...” he also refers to the “Whirling Dervishes” so I took a look, very interesting. On Kelder Peter‘s book “the Ancient Secret of The Fountain of Youth” he acknowledges that the Lamas do not twirl in excess, they whirl/spin only a dozen times or so just enough to activate the Chakras..., I found that around 13 spins feels just right for me.

Word of advise: be Safe, it is not a race. Doing 21 repetitions with no prior practice, or body alignment, or correct use of your breath will do more harm than good, 2 fabulous repetitions is better, you will get stronger and progress harvesting the benefits as you practice in mindfulness.

“...The Five Tibetans Rites are simple, practical, effective and certainly mind/body altering. If you would love to become rejuvenated, remain calm, feel more vitality, be more flexible and simply look your absolute best, then now there is a new way to experience a greater state of wellbeing that takes just minutes a day, but lasts a lifetime.” … Dr. John F. Demartini

Please consult with your Doctor to verify that this sequence of movements are right for you. When you get the green light, please see the instructional video and the practice video, here under video tab and under "Yoga, Pranayama & Meditation"

References, related links & Bibliography

Interesting: The first rite which does not seem like Yoga, has a mayor resemblance to the dance worship of the Maulawiyah, otherwise known as "Whirling Dervishes". see link

The Five Tibetan Rites are also referred to as "The Five Rites", "The Five Tibetans", "The Five Rites of Rejuvenation", " The Rites", "The Fountain of Youth" and more, I have added a few links at the bottom in case you would like to know more about this fascinating art of rejuvenation.

“The Five Tibetans”book by Christopher S. Kilham "The Eye of Revelation"book by Kelder Peter

121 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page